WYOMISSING AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT 2008-3937

Minutes August 19, 2008

The Wyomissing Area School District Board of School Directors met beginning at 5:30 p.m. to interview applicants for the vacancy created by the resignation of Daniel K. Snyder.

Board members present: Mrs. Barnett (arrived at 5:35 p.m.), Mr. Althouse, Mr. Fitzgerald,

Mr. Hinsey, Mrs. McCready, Mr. Portner, Mrs. Sakmann and Mr.

Larkin

Others present: Pat Barrick, Karen McAvoy, Barbara Reeser, Janice Miller, and

Peter Schiaroli

The Board interviewed five persons who had submitted applications by the deadline: Barbara Cafurello, Michelle Davis, Dr. George E. Smith, William P. Murray and Michael J. Rogers. Their applications provided written answers to identical questions. During the interviews, Board members asked questions in light of the applicants' written answers, and other concerns. Not all candidates were asked the same questions at the interview. These minutes reflect a summary of extensive discussions held throughout the evening.

Following all of the interviews, Mr. Larkin asked Board members to name their top three candidates. Those with the most support were Michelle Davis, William P. Murray, and Michael J. Rogers.

Mr. Larkin asked Board members to name their top two candidates of the three who received the most support. Those with the most support were Mrs. Davis and Mr. Murray.

Each Board member was asked to describe pros and cons of the top two candidates, and state toward whom he or she was leaning. After each Board member had so contributed, a vote was taken. The votes were as follows:

Mrs. Barnett: Mrs. Davis Mr. Althouse: Mr. Murray Mr. Fitzgerald: Mr. Murray Mr. Hinsey: Mr. Murray Mrs. McCready: Mrs. Davis Mr. Portner: Mr. Murray Mrs. Sakmann: Mrs. Davis Mr. Larkin: Mrs Davis

The Board continued to discuss which finalist should be selected to fill the vacancy. Board members asked for additional information to be provided regarding each finalist. The meeting adjourned at 9:30 p.m.

Corinne D. Mason	